Several NE Nebraska farms recipients of Family Farm Award

Several farms throughout Northeast Nebraska were recipients of either the 2023 Heritage Farm Family or the 2023 Pioneer Farm Family Award.

The awards, presented by the Aksarben Foundation, help celebrate the state’s agricultural heritage and both the dedication and perseverance of farm families within the state.

Nebraska Farm Bureau president Mark McHargue says the bureau is proud to be part of this long-standing program as farm and ranch families deserve to be recognized with this coveted and prestigious award.

Recipients of the Heritage Award, which recognizes family farms with 150 years of existence, are:

Asch Family Farms in Stanton County.

Simonson Homestead, Uecker Family Farm in Madison County.

Those who received the Pioneer Award, which recognizes 100 years of existence, are:

Stelling Family Farm in Antelope County.

Wuebben Family Farm in Cedar County.

Schutte Family Farm in Cuming County.

Janousek Family Farm in Colfax County.

Schwarts Family Farm in Knox County.

Shermer Family, Hoffman Family Farm, and Petersen Family Farm in Pierce County.

Kermit Johnson Family Farm in Wayne County.