Aksarben Announces the 2024 Court of Honor Inductees Court of Honor to be Celebrated at the 129th Aksarben Ball on October 19, 2024

The Aksarben Foundation is proud to announce the 2024 Aksarben Court of Honor to celebrate individuals and families who have left a profound impact on the state of Nebraska through one of 10 categories that include: agriculture, arts, business and industry, community service, education, philanthropy, professions, public service, sports or service to youth. The Court of Honor award, established in 1988, is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards awarded by The Aksarben Foundation.

“It is with great pleasure that Aksarben honors these deserving leaders whose efforts have made a significant difference in our communities,” said Chaley Chandler, 2024 Women’s Ball Committee Chairman. “The Aksarben Foundation continues to recognize incredible citizens and we are proud to announce the 2024 Court of Honor.”

The Aksarben Ball Committee is proud to announce the 2024 Aksarben Court of Honor inductees:

Dr. Shashi Bhatia and Dr. Subhash Bhatia have made their mark on generations of students as professors, educators, clinicians and department administrators at Creighton University School of Medicine, CHI, the VA Hospital, and UNMC. Both received their medical degrees from, Punjab University, Chandigarh, India. They have worked as volunteer physicians at various charity programs. Together, Shashi and Subhash founded the Bhatia Family Endowed Chair at Creighton University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry. They also established the Bhatia Family Omaha Public-School Foundation to support scholarships for post-secondary education. The Bhatia’s are being honored for their contributions to education and professions.


Scott Hazelrigg is a 5th generation Nebraskan who holds a Juris Doctorate from the University of Nebraska College of Law. He is founder and President of the NorthStar Foundation and has centered his professional and volunteer life in Greater Omaha around building community through education and youth services.  In addition to his contributions to youth, he is the former Executive Director of the Strategic Air & Space Museum and was previously elected board member of the District 66/Westside Community Schools Board of Education. Scott was an Aksarben Page in 1977 and served as Co-Chair of the Aksarben Floor Committee in 2007. Hazelrigg’s late father, Gerald E. Hazelrigg, was inducted in the Aksarben Court of Honor in 1997, he is being honored for his contributions and service to young people.



JW Hornady started Hornady Manufacturing Company in Grand Island, Nebraska over 75 years ago. Today, the business is still family-owned and is a world leader in bullet and ammunition design and manufacturing. Now in their second and third generations of leadership Steve and Jason Hornady serve as the Company President and Vice President. Steve took the reins of the company after his father’s passing and led Hornady to what it is today. Steve is an active advocate for the shooting sports industry both nationally and internationally. Jason Hornady grew up in Grand Island, Nebraska where he worked as an apprentice in the Hornady Manufacturing ballistics lab. After 14 successful years in the outdoor industry, Jason followed in his father and grandfather’s footsteps by joining the family business in 2006.  Both gentlemen have served on numerous boards and earlier this year were inducted to the Nebraska Chamber of Commerce Hall of Fame. The Hornady’s are being honored for their contributions to business and industry.


Scott D. Moore is a native of rural Nebraska and a graduate of the University of Nebraska Lincoln.  After being elected as a member of Nebraska’s Unicameral Legislature in 1986, Scott served for eight years as a State Senator from the 24th Legislative district.  In 1994, Scott was elected Statewide as Nebraska’s Secretary of State and was re-elected in 1998. In 2000, Scott exited elective office and joined Union Pacific in Omaha where he held a variety of positions ultimately overseeing State Government Affairs, Communications and Chief Administrative functions. Scott is being honored for his career in Public Service and Business & Industry.


Mary Zicafoose is a Nebraska visual artist and tapestry weaver who was born and raised in Niles, Michigan where as a young child she received national recognition in the arts and later received her BFA from St. Mary’s College, Notre Dame, IN. In 1978, Mary came to the Heartland for the first time where she met her husband, Kirby Zicafoose, and fell in love with all things Nebraska.  Best known for her work in ikat woven tapestry, Zicafoose is recognized as an inspirational presence in the arts in the community, state, and nation. She is a founding board member of the Union for Contemporary Art and the Mid-City Conservatory, now the Omaha Conservatory of Music, a former Bemis Center for Contemporary Art resident artist, and she is Co-Director Emerita of the American Tapestry Alliance.  Mary was recently recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award in the Visual Arts at the 2023 Omaha Arts & Entertainment Awards. The Mary Zicafoose Textiles studio is located at Pahuk, the Zicafoose property on the Platte River outside of rural Cedar Bluffs. Her work is exhibited and collected internationally; she is being honored for her achievements in the arts.