Aksarben Announces 2023 Royal Court

Court of Honor to be Celebrated Aksarben Ball on October 28, 2023

The Aksarben Foundation is honored to announce the 2023 Royal Court to honor the citizens of Nebraska and western Iowa for volunteerism and philanthropy. The celebration kicked off on July 29, 2023 at Champions Run to introduce Pages and Standard Bearers in the morning during the Royal Court Brunch. Princesses, Escorts and Court of Honor members were formally announced in the evening at the Royal Court Welcome Dinner. All court members will be formally presented at the 2023 Aksarben Ball on Saturday, October 28, 2023 at the CHI Health Center.

"We are thrilled to recognize these exceptional Heartland families for their valuable contributions and significant involvement across Nebraska," said Kathryn Anderson, Women’s Ball Committee Chair (WBC). "Aksarben consistently celebrates the powerful involvement of families across the state who have ongoing vision, impact, leadership, scale and most importantly, Nebraska, at the forefront of their efforts.”

For 128 years, Aksarben has continued to focus on the sustainability and prosperity of the great state of Nebraska. The efforts focus on workforce development, commitment to the Scholarship program, community grants and support of those who embody the Spirit of Aksarben in the daily lives through ongoing volunteerism and civic projects.

“It’s an absolute honor to announce these families and individuals today,” said Anderson. “Their dedication to make a powerful impact to the state of Nebraska is what inspires us all to do more and continue to be a bright light throughout the Heartland."

In addition, Aksarben announced and celebrated The Court of Honor, which was established in 1988 as one of Aksarben’s most prestigious awards. This year, Aksarben announced 11 individuals in 5 categories for their service to the Heartland.

For his contributions to Professions – Robert Hoogeveen

For his contributions to Business and Industry – Henry “Hod” Kosman

For his contributions to Business and Industry – Marc LeBaron

For her contributions to Arts – Ruth Meints

For their contributions to Sports & Community Service

  • Ron Boone
  • Bob Boozer
  • Marlin Briscoe
  • Bob Gibson
  • Johnny Rodgers
  • Gale Sayers
  • Roger Sayers

The Women’s Ball Committee (WBC) is led by committee chairs including the following:

  • Kathryn Anderson – Chair
  • Sharlon Rodgers – Women’s Ball Committee Advisor
  • Chaley Chandler – Royal Court Brunch Chair
  • Stephanie Pantano – Royal Court Supper Chair
  • Carol Wang – Royal Court Welcome Chair
  • Tiffany White-Welchen – Royal Court Brunch & Welcome Assistant
  • Fatima Basith – Networking Chair
  • Wendi Kroeger – Networking Assistant.
  • Nate Dodge – Aksarben Ball Committee Chair

Jeffery Taxman, who has announced the Court each year since 1989 reprised his role in announcing the Royal Courts for both events on July 29, 2023