Farm Families

We recognize the families who have kept Nebraska’s Agricultural heritage alive.

Nebraska is full of families who have been farming and keeping traditions alive for decades.

The application window is now closed for the 2021 Farm Family Awards. Applications may be submitted between January 1 and May 1st each year. Once we receive your application, we will process with the county the farmland is located within. We work with the County Fair Board Representative to ensure that all historic information and family lineage is verified. Once we receive approval from the county, the award and gatepost marker are created and presented to the family at their respective county fair throughout the summer months.

This award is presented by the Aksarben Foundation in partnership with the Nebraska Farm Bureau and the Nebraska Association of Fair Managers. These awards honor the families who have held same family ownership of land for 100 (Pioneer Award) and 150 (Heritage Award) years. Congratulations to this year’s awardees!

Pioneer Award Recipients
Heritage Award Recipients

Farm Families

Past and present.

Apply for a Farm Family Award

Farm Family Awards

This program recognizes farm families in Nebraska whose land has been owned by members of the same family for 100 years (Pioneer Award) and 150 years (Heritage Award).

  • A family may receive one award at a time so apply for either the 100 year or the 150 year award.
  • The farm’s current minimum size required to submit an application is 40 acres, unless the original deed or homestead documents state the original homestead was less than 40 acres.

Any applications submitted after the deadline date of May 1st will be awarded the following year.